top of page



In 2012, I founded Lit Camp, a juried writers conference that accepts only 40 of the best writers of fiction, memoir, and narrative nonfiction.

Past Lit Camp faculty has included Adam Johnson, Anthony Marra, Phil Klay, Paul Harding, Susan Straight, and Andrew Sean Greer. In 2019 we welcomed Jonathan Lethem, Dana Spiotta, and R.O Kwan.

For 2022, our faculty will include Jane Smiley, Gabriela Garcia, and once more, Dana Spiotta, as well as literary agent, Laurie Liss, and Graywolf editor, Ethan Nosowsky.

We hold Lit Camp every May at the Bell Valley Retreat Center in Mendocino County. We open for submissions October 1 through January 31.

Lit Camp 2016_794.jpg
Lit Camp 2017933.jpg

Many of the writers who have attended Lit Camp has been offered book deals by major publishing houses, and have published books. Our most recent success story is a Lit Camper who received a 7 figure book deal.

Lit Camp also gives back. Each year, we hold a cocktail-naming contest, with all proceeds from the auction going to Dave Eggers ScholarMatch.

bottom of page